Perfectly Productive :)

I don’t think I’m a bad person, although I’ve been told by many people that I am. I’ve been told I have no compassion, morality, heart, sympathy, empathy, kindness, etc. I don’t think that’s true. Depression, stress, and anxiety are dangerous. The effects of them aren’t always seen but felt. I’ve seen countless relationships (platonic & nonplatonic) end over miscommunications. Many of these relationships were my own. Everyone deals with depression, stress, and anxiety at some point in their lives. It becomes dangerous when we don’t have healthy coping skills. The costs and stigma of mental health keep people from seeking treatment.  Since the health care system is so impacted, often attempting to seek help is a stressor! In therapy I learned that we, as a society, will have shorter conversations and be more productive if we learn how to handle stress, anxiety, and depression. In therapy I learned coping skills that instantly cure my stress: housing insecurity, job loss, financial problems, etc. I can calm myself down from any situation in 5 minutes. The stress may creep back in later, but I always know how to eradicate  it. Life will be easier if we come to every interaction with no assumptions. I’ve become very good at reading people. I can tell when people are stressed, anxious, or depressed. I’ve learned to adapt based on people’s emotions. When someone is sad, I ask what is wrong and try to listen and help. When someone is frustrated, I let her vent until she’s feeling better.

 

We have no idea what shit other people are going through, so we have no right to assume. Assume everyone is in a crappy mood. How would you want to be treated if you were in a crappy mood? Treat everyone as nicely as you can stand.  I don’t think we should argue if we agree, so let’s agree on this: Everyone deals with stress, anxiety, depression, etc. If we come into every interaction with no assumptions about what people are going through, how their brains work, etc., we’ll avoid a lot of tiny arguments. Then we can spend more time being productive people.

Leave a Reply

